Home > General Posts, Sermons > Living the Christian Life by Exhibiting Christian Characteristics

Living the Christian Life by Exhibiting Christian Characteristics

Today, I went to Tilden, MS, and preached the first sermon of three in a series on the characteristics of a Christian. Today, the sermon was on Christian unity and perseverance, with its text from Philippians 1:27-30. While these characteristics tie in with my regular “Living the Christian Life in 2010″ posts on this website, I do realize that I still have yet to post the blog on public/private worship. I hope to have it up by the end of this week. My sermon series on Christian characteristics will last at least through the month of January, and I will post links to each sermon as I upload them to my account at podbean.com.

To explain the relationship between my current blog series and sermon series:

My blog series, “Living the Christian Life in 2010,” exhorts us Christians to do three things:

  1. Daily study God’s Word, the Bible,
  2. Pray, and
  3. Worship God both privately and publicly.

My sermon series, “Characteristics of the Christian Citizen of Heaven,” exhorts us Christians to

  1. Be unified in perseverance (Philippians 1:27-30),
  2. Be unified in humility (Philippians 2:1-11), and
  3. Shine as lights in the world (Philippians 2:12-18).

My blog series presents elementary building blocks of what we as Christians should be doing; studying God’s Word, praying to God, and worshipping God are basic things we should all be doing. My sermon series presents what should result as we do those three things. As we study our Bibles, pray to God, and worship God, we should become more unified with other Christians, persevere in the faith, become more humble, and shine as lights in the world. In other words, the traits I am preaching about in Philippians are what should result from our studying the Bible, praying, and worshipping. That said, these Christian characteristics (listed in my sermons) are other ways we should live the Christian life not just in 2010 but in every year we live; but we cannot exhibit these Christian characteristics unless we are first living the Christian life by reading the Bible, praying to God, and worshipping Him.

You can listen to the audio of from my first sermon on Christian characteristics here. As I mentioned earlier, I hope to have the last post on “Living the Christian Life” up by the end of this week, and you can expect the rest of my sermon series on Christian characteristics at least through the end of this month.

I hope you are all having a worship-filled Sunday. God bless!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

