Home > General Posts > Late August Update

Late August Update

Today was my first day back to The University of Alabama, and this morning felt very “fall-ish,” which tells me that fall football (both high school and collegiate) will be starting in less than two weeks! So as this new season of life/the year begins, I thought I’d give y’all a personal update and a preview of the blogs posts to come in upcoming weeks.

Personal Update

My wonderful wife, Abigail, is 21 weeks pregnant, which means that our daughter, Hadassah Joy Atkinson, will be coming into this world in a mere four months! We’re over halfway there, and it’s amazing. We’ve seen so many ultrasound pictures of Hadassah, and they impress both the reality and the beauty of Psalm 139:13-16 upon me:

For you formed my inward parts;
_____you knited me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
_____my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
_____intricately woven in the detphs of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
_____the days that were formed for me,
_____when as yet there was none of them.

Not only has seeing Hadassah via ultrasound on computer monitors impressed the awesomeness of God’s glory in creation upon me, but also in the past days feeling Hadassah kick around has just really overwhelmed me with God’s amazing power and abundant steadfast love.

Upcoming book reviews

As far as the blog goes, upcoming book reviews will include reviews of Enthroned on Our Praise by Timothy M. Pierce, Tremper Longman III’s commentary on Job, Effective Bible Teaching (2nd Ed) by Leland Ryken and James C. Wilhoit, and Trent Butler’s Exploring the Unexplained.

Enthroned on Our Praise by Timothy Pierce will be the first book I feature my thoughts on in the future. I’m about halfway done and hope to have it done by the end of next week. Look for a blog about it in the next couple of weeks.

I was SO excited to receive free copies of Tremper Longman III’s commentary on Job and Effective Bible Teaching from Baker Academic Publishing in the mail yesterday. Those will be the books I review next. Look for my thoughts on Longman’s Job commentary sometime in September. My thoughts on Effective Bible Teaching should be posted by mid-October.

Butler’s Exploring the Unexplained is a dictionary of “peculiar” people, places, things, and events in the Bible. I should have a post about it up by the end of September.

Other upcoming blog posts

Christianity plays a role in Latin American history, Renaissance history, and U. S. colonial history, all of which I’m taking classes about this semester. Look for occasional posts inspired by what I learn about these periods of history and how Christianity and the Bible relate to them.

Also, I have two posts or so left in my blog series on Philippians.

In my personal Bible reading, I’m reading through the Minor Prophets in the Old Testament right now. Look for posts about these books of the Bible in the coming weeks.

Conclusion

Fall is going to be a wonderful time. I’m looking forward to the changes this season brings (more furniture in Hadassah’s nursery!), and I pray that God will help us “set our minds on things that are above” as we go through this season together.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

