Home > Book Reviews, General Posts > A Review of Effective Bible Teaching

A Review of Effective Bible Teaching

Wilhoit, James C. and Ryken, Leland. Effective Bible Teaching, Second Edition. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2012. 193 pp. Paperback.

Wilhoit and Ryken have revised and updated a helpful training tool for Bible teachers. Whether Sunday school teachers, Wednesday night Bible study leaders, or small group teachers, Bible teachers of all ages and experiences can profit from this accessible work.

Wilhoit and Ryken have divided their work into three helpful parts: Effective Teaching, The Methods of Effective Bible Teaching, and The Bible We Teach. In Part 1, the authors set the context of contemporary Bible teaching. In Part 2, the authors discuss the actual methodology of effectively teaching the Bible. In Part 3, the authors instruct the reader on how to teach the various genres of the Bible.

As a whole, I found this book very helpful. I am sure that I will turn to it multiple times in the future as I teach the Bible to the youth at Calvary Baptist Church. I found every chapter to be well-written and -organized. I found Part 1 to be most helpful, however. I had read much of what Wilhoit and Ryken discuss in Parts 2 and 3 earlier in various books and blogs. The material in Part 1, however, was newer to me and so I profited more readily from it.

4 out of 5 stars.

I am grateful to Baker Academic for providing me a free review copy. I was not obligated to give a positive review.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 22, 2013 at 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

